2019 IEEE Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence

IEEE Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence

December 6-9, 2019 Xiamen, China


IEEE Symposium on Artificial Life (IEEE ALIFE)

IEEE ALIFE' 19 brings together researchers working on the emerging areas of Artificial Life and Complex Adaptive Systems, aiming to understand and synthesize life-like systems and applying bio-inspired synthetic methods to other science/engineering disciplines, including Biology, Robotics, Social Sciences, among others.

Artificial Life is the study of the simulation and synthesis of living systems. In particular, this science of generalized living and life-like systems provides engineering with billions of years of design expertise to learn from and exploit through the example of the evolution of organic life on earth. Increased understanding of the massively successful design diversity, complexity, and adaptability of life is rapidly making inroads into all areas of engineering and the Sciences of the Artificial. Numerous applications of ideas from nature and their generalizations from life-as-we-know-it to life-as-it-could-be continually find their way into engineering and science.

Best Paper Award Winner:

Seiya Yamazaki, Hiroyuki Iizuka and Masahito Yamamoto. Analysis of Time Series Generated by LSTM Trained with Adversarial Imitation Learning

Best Student Paper Award Winner:

Hugo Cisneros, Tomas Mikolov and Josef Sivic. Evolving Structures in Complex Systems


Best paper/best student paper awards of IEEE ALIFE 2019 are sponsored by Wolfram Research, Inc.


We invite submissions of high-quality contributions on a wide variety of topics relevant to the wide research areas of Artificial Life. Some sample topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following aspects of Artificial Life:

  • Systems Biology, Astrobiology, Origins of Replicators and Life
  • Major Evolutionary Transitions
  • Applications in Nanotechnology, Compilable Matter, or Medicine
  • Genetic Regulatory Systems
  • Predictive Methods for Complex Adaptive Systems
  • Self-reproduction, Self-Repair, and Morphogenesis
  • Human-Robot Interaction
  • Robotic and Embodiment: Minimal, Adaptive, Ontogenetic and/or Social Robotics
  • Constructive Dynamical Systems and Complexity
  • Evolvability, Heritability, and Multicellularity
  • Genetic Regulatory Systems
  • Information-Theoretic Methods in Life-like Systems
  • Sensor and Actuator Evolution and Adaptation
  • Wet and Dry Artificial Life (e.g. artificial cells; non-carbon based life)
  • Non-Traditional Computational Media
  • Emergence and Complexity
  • Multiscale Robustness and Plasticity
  • Phenotypic Plasticity and Adaptability in Scalable, Robust Growing Systems
  • Predictive Methods for Complex Adaptive Systems and Life-like Systems
  • Automata Networks and Cellular Automata
  • Ethics and Philosophy of Artificial Life
  • Co-evolution and Symbiogenesis
  • Simulation and Visualization Tools for Artificial Life
  • Genetic Regulatory Systems
  • Replicator and Interaction Dynamics
  • Network Theory in Biology and Artificial Life
  • Synchronization and Biological Clocks
  • Genetic Regulatory Systems
  • Methods and Applications of Evolutionary Developmental Systems (e.g. developmental genetic-regulatory networks (DGRNs), multicellularity)
  • Games and Generalized Biology
  • Self-organization, Swarms and Multicellular Systems
  • Emergence of Signaling and Communication

Symposium Chairs

Hiroki Sayama

Binghamton University, USA

Email: sayama@binghamton.edu


Chrystopher Nehaniv

University of Waterloo, Canada

Email: chrystopher.nehaniv@uwaterloo.ca


Joseph Lizier

The University of Sydney, Australia

Email: joseph.lizier@sydney.edu.au


Stefano Nichele

Oslo Metropolitan University, Norway

Email: stenic@oslomet.no


Terry Bossomaier

Charles Sturt University, Australia

Email: tbossomaier@csu.edu.au


Program Committee

Andy Adamatzky University of the West of England
Takaya Arita Nagoya University
Elizabeth Aston Keele University
Randall Beer Indiana University
Axel Bender DST Group
Katie Bentley Francis Crick Institute
Martin Biehl Araya Inc.
Eleonora Bilotta University of Calabria
Terry Bossomaier Charles Sturt University
Christopher Buckley University Sussex
Alastair Channon Keele University
Dominique Chu University of Kent
Kerstin Dautenhahn University of Hertfordshire
Marco Dorigo Universite Libre de Bruxelles
Alan Dorin Monash University
Matthew Egbert University of Auckland
Tom Froese IIMAS, UNAM
Carlos Gershenson UNAM
Keyan Ghazi-Zahedi Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences
Heiko Hamann University of Luebeck
Inman Harvey University of Sussex
J. Michael Herrmann University of Edinburgh
Genki Ichinose Shizuoka University
Takashi Ikegami University of Tokyo
Christian Jacob University of Calgary
Genaro Juarez Martinez University of the West of England
Joseph Lizier University of Sydney
Georg Martius IST Austria
Chrystopher Nehaniv University of Waterloo
Stefano Nichele Oslo Metropolitan University
Geoff Nitschke University of Cape Town
Mizuki Oka University of Tsukuba
Eckehard Olbrich Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences
Theodore Pavlic Arizona State University
Mikhail Prokopenko University of Sydney
Thomas Ray University of Oklahoma
Hiroki Sayama Binghamton University
Susan Stepney University of York
Reiji Suzuki Nagoya University
Tim Taylor University of York
Jason Teo Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Christof Teuscher Portland State University
Vito Trianni ISTC-CNR
Tatsuo Unemi Soka University
Sara Imari Walker Arizona State University
Juyang Weng Michigan State University
Justin Werfel Harvard University
Borys Wrobel Adam Mickiewicz University
Hector Zenil University of Oxford
Sebastian von Mammen University of Würzburg