2019 IEEE Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence

IEEE Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence

December 6-9, 2019 Xiamen, China


IEEE Symposium on Evolutionary Scheduling and Combinatorial Optimisation (IEEE ESCO)

Evolutionary scheduling and combinatorial optimisation (ESCO) is an important research area at the interface of artificial intelligence (AI) and operations research (OR). ESCO has attracted the attentions of researchers over the years due to its applicability and interesting computational aspects. Evolutionary Computation (EC) techniques are suitable for these problems since they are highly flexible regarding handling constraints, dynamic changes, and multiple conflicting objectives. With the growth of new technologies and business models, researchers in this field have to continuously face new challenges, which required innovated solution methods.
This symposium focuses on both practical and theoretical aspects of Evolutionary Scheduling and Combinatorial Optimisation. Examples of evolutionary methods include genetic algorithm, genetic programming, evolutionary strategies, ant colony optimisation, particle swarm optimisation, evolutionary based hyper-heuristics, memetic algorithms. Novel hybrid approaches that combine machine learning and evolutionary computation to solve difficult ESCO problems are highly encouraged. Examples include using machine learning to improve surrogate-assisted evolutionary algorithms, and designing evolutionary algorithms for reinforcement learning and transfer learning.
We welcome the submissions of quality papers that effectively use the power of EC techniques to solve hard and practical scheduling and combinatorial optimization problems. Papers with rigorous analyses of EC techniques and innovative solutions to handle challenging issues in scheduling and combinatorial optimisation problems are also highly encouraged.


Topics of interest include, but not limited to:

  • Production scheduling
  • Timetabling
  • Nurse rostering
  • Patient scheduling
  • Vehicle routing
  • Project scheduling
  • Airport runway scheduling
  • Transport scheduling
  • Grid/cloud scheduling and resource allocation• Evolutionary scheduling with Big Data
  • Web service composition
  • Wireless networking state location allocation
  • Project scheduling
  • 2D/3D strip packing
  • Space allocation
  • Multi-objective scheduling
  • Metamodel-based Evolutionary Algorithm for scheduling
  • Multiple interdependent decisions
  • Automated heuristic design
  • Innovative applications of evolutionary scheduling and combinatorial optimisation

Symposium Chairs

Yi Mei

Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand



Nelishia Pillay

University of Pretoria, South Africa



Liang Gao

Huazhong University of Science and Technology



Rong Qu

University of Nottingham



Program Committee

Juergen Branke University of Warwick, UK
Alexandre Sawczuk da Silva Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
Hui Ma Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
Kamran Shafi University of New South Wales, Australia
Andy Song RMIT University, Australia
Kay Chen Tan City Univeristy of Hong Kong, HK
Xiaoqiang Cai The Chinese University of Hong Kong China, HK
Aaron Chen Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
Jian Xiong National University of Defense Technology, P.R. China
Lam Bui Thu Le Quy Don Technical University, Vietnam
Mark Johnston University of Worcester, UK
Jinghui Zhong Southern China University of Technology, China
Chuan-Kang Ting National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
Deepak Karunakaran Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
John Park Victoria University of Wellington, NZ
Emma Hart Napier University, UK
Handing Wang Xidian University, China
Liang Feng Chongqing University, China
Ke Tang Southern University of Science and Technology of China, China
Kevin Sim Napier University, UK
Yuping Wang Xidian University, China
Jing Liu Xidian University, China
Domagoj Jakobovic University of Zagreb, Croatia
Hemant Kumar Singh University of New South Wales, Australia
Marko Durasevic University of Zagreb, Croatia
Tapabrata Ray University of New South Wales, Australia
Professor Ruibin Bai University of Nottingham, Ningbo
Professor Panayiotis Alefragis TEI of Western Greece, Greece
Professor Greet Vanden Berghe KU Leuven, Belgium
Dr John Woodward Queen Mary University of London, UK